White Lies - Hold Back Your Love

White Lies - Hold Back Your Love

White Lies are an English post-punk band from Ealing, London. Formerly known as Fear of Flying, they were formed in October 2007, after writing songs that they felt didn’t suit their original band. The core band members are Harry McVeigh (lead vocals, guitar), Charles Cave (bass guitar and backing vocals), and Jack Lawrence-Brown (drums). White Lies’ musical style has been described as dark yet uplifting by the media, drawing comparisons to Editors, Interpol, Joy Division, and The Killers.


Hold Back Your Love is the 3rd track from their fourth album, Friends, released on 7 October 2016. It has an indie retro pop sound characterised by melancholic beats and dreamy synths. The video is directed by David Pablos and explores people going through the entire spectrum of emotions while being on or sharing a bed. The direction of photography is by Juan Pablo Ramirez and the film was shot in Mexico and London.

All images © White Lies – Hold Back Your Love

Leave a Reply